Allergies and genetics

Ever wondered if food allergies ran in families. I do.

I don’t have any food allergies – although I am allergic to various penicillins – and Pete is not allergic to any food – although he does react terribly to anti-persperants.

Today I received word that my niece was rushed off to hospital after a nasty reaction to peanuts. She had shown sensitivity to say and milk when younger, and my sister-in-law vigalently avoided those products for a few years.

This was her first major reaction at 5!

Genetics or environment? It’s not conclusive – but it would seem the family link is strong.

5 responses to “Allergies and genetics

  • Pig in the Kitchen

    Hi Kylie,

    Because one of the winners of my ‘Don’t kill the birthday girl’ giveaway didn’t come forward, I’ve done the draw again and…you’ve won!

    Please email me at: piginthekitchen@hotmail.com with your postal address.
    Congratulations!
    Pig x

  • myspork

    No doubt there’s a link there. I’m allergic to amines. Possibly one of the more annoying allergies ever. My grandma was allergic to glutamates (like MSG), which is also high in amines. We reacted in much the same way, too, though she was never diagnosed. It’s only just now coming to light what an amine allergy is. And barely, at that.

    I love what you’ve put together on this blog, and would love if you’d spread the good word about amine allergies, if you could – maybe on your blogroll? I’m hoping that by connecting allergy blogs to one another, we’ll be able to help our readership even more in the long run.

    Keep up the great work
    !
    – Michelle Ferris
    Low Amine Recipes

    http://aminerecipes.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

