Bella Friendly Chocolate Cake

This cake is rather good considering it has no eggs or dairy. It’s quick and easy to make and you can make it in the pan used to cook – although I use a mixing bowl.

The picture is from Bella’s 4th birthday party. I used commercially available icing paste – that you simply roll out and apply (so easy!). And it covers a multitude of sins.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 Cups Plain Flour
  • 1/3 Cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Bi-Carb Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Cup Cold Water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 teaspoons Vinegar

Method:

Preheat oven to 175 C.

Sift dry ingredients (except sugar) together. Add Sugar and mix.

Make 3 wells in dry mixture. Fill 1 with water, 1 with oil and 1 with vinegar.

Stir together with fork.

Place in 9 x 13″ pan and into the oven.

Takes 25-30 minutes – test with a toothpick – should come out clean.

Notes:

  • To make Bella’s birthday cake, I cut the cake in half and stuck one piece on top of the other using strawberry jam. I then rolled out commercially bought chocolate icing (which contained no dairy) and covered to make the box. I used white icing to make the bow.
  • Plain oil such as grapeseed or plain vegetable work best – olive and other vegetable oils with a strong flavour can overpower the cake.
  • Plain boring vinegar is best. I have apple cider vinegar – not so good.
  • I have had the cake stick a few times too. I guess I should line the tin with paper… but I never seem to get around to that 🙂
  • Egg free, dairy free chocolate cake

Do you have a child with food allergies?

Please add your data to the Food Allergy Survey

3 responses to “Bella Friendly Chocolate Cake

  • Shayna

    I don’t see the pic of this cake, I would love to. My daughter is highly allergic to milk and not sure about the eggs and her 1st bday is coming up. Could you email me the pic? Thanks! panthersgirl17@gmail.com

  • kylie

    Hey Shayna,

    Thanks for your question. I will get the picture organised asap.

    Good luck with the party!
    Kylie

  • Karen Schaffer

    can’t believe the coincidences!

    my daughter’s name is isabella (i call her bella too), i needed an eggless, dairy-free cake for her upcoming 3rd bday(she is allergic to the same things), and she looooves chocolate!

    also hoping for an allergy-free bella in our future…

    thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

