Egg Free and Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

choc2choc 1This is a highly evil recipe for chocolate chip cookies that my kids love. I used a variation listed below (which would not be any use for kids with a nut allergy) for the cookies in the picture. You are right – I am unlikely to become a food stylist or food photographer!

  • 3/4 cup margarine (check ingredients)
    • (I substituted 1/4 cup of margarine for peanut butter – very yummy)
  • 1 cup unrefined Sugar
  • 1 banana
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa (can be a little more if you like)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup Chocolate chips (you can use carob/soy etc. I used Max Brenner Dark Chocolate chips, which do not contain any milk products)

Preheat oven to 175 C.

Cream margarine and sugar (and peanut butter if included) until light in colour and fluffy. Add banana and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, soda, and baking powder.

Add dry mixture to wet mixture and mix until everything is well blended. Stir in the chips.

Form balls and squash them down a little bit on a baking sheet. Bake for 7-9 minutes until the tops are no longer gooey.

These have been a huge hit with adults and kids, allergy free or not!

Do you have a child with food allergies?

Please add your data to the Food Allergy Survey

4 responses to “Egg Free and Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • Cameron Incoll

    So Egg and _Diary_ Free ??? is this a recipe that you don’t need to check your calendar prior to baking? 😉

    are these the delicious ones that you brought over last night?

    Cam

  • kylie

    Hey I was probably drinking wine when I wrote it 🙂
    I can fix – thanks for pointing it out.
    Yes, they are the cookies I brought over the other night.

  • Jami

    I am quite new to the dairy free lifestyle. My daughter was just diagnosed and I am having a lot of trouble finding some of the ingredients for the recipes. I really don’t want her to have to go back to the hospital!! If you could point me in the right direction on where to buy these products I would be very greatful!! Thank you!

  • kylie

    Hi Jami,

    I am assuming you are in Australia when I write this.
    There are dairy free margarines available at most supermarkets. We use BECEL, but NUTTELEX is also dairy free.

    Actually I might do a new blog entry on products and where to buy them…

    Kylie

Leave a Reply

