Diary of Isabella’s Food Allergies – Part 2

After Bella was diagnosed with food allergies, my diet was adjusted so that I was no longer eating her trigger foods (I was still breastfeeding). Initially she reacted to Egg White, Wheat and Milk. That made my life “fun” food wise, but boy it made a difference to her excema. Within days it improved looking far less angry, and within weeks it was scarcely noticeable. I was amazed that something so simple could make such a difference!

We were cruising! We gradually introduced solids, each time with enormous care, and each time with no ill effects. She scoffed the fruit and vegies.

At her next series of skin prick tests (about six months later) her Wheat welt was down significantly and Doctor suggested a Wheat challenge. At the Food Challenge, the child is fed the allergen in a controlled manner, under medical supervision. They begin with touching the food to the child’s inner lip, then feeding 1/8 teaspoon; 1/2 teaspoon and increasing intervals until it is determined that there is no life threatening reaction or other ill effects. We breezed through the challenge and Wheat was able to be added to her diet – and mine! (I actually find I feel much better in myself and look “well” when I exclude wheat from my diet… but I’m a sucker for Brown’s bread and puddings 🙂 )

Life was pretty uneventful from an allergy perspective. We had to watch her in social situations. Obviously, Isabella did not understand she couldn’t share food with the other kids. This had the most impact as she grew older and realised that other kids were getting treats she couldn’t have.

Our next misadventure (and my timing on these events is a little hazy these days – but I would say 8 or 9 months old) was during her regular morning nap. To say Bella was a poor sleeper would be an understatement. Even today she resists going to sleep, often awake after me – a real night owl.

As usual, she played up, carrying on and refusing to go to sleep. However, there was something different about her cry, more urgency?? I’m not sure, but I decided to check in on her and ignore the “controlled crying”. This is what I found. 

 Puffy Eyes

I grabbed her and ran straight to the Dr. The drive took forever. I can no longer recall what we did, probably phenergan? 

The eyes gradually unpuffed. We never discovered what caused the problem, it didn’t seem to be any food she had come in contact with. I suspect it may have been the cat. She had been playing with Pippi before going for her nap. Without rubbing cat spit in her eyes to test, (and of course we don’t do that!!) I guess we’ll never know.

6 responses to “Diary of Isabella’s Food Allergies – Part 2

  • Anand

    Dear Kylie,
    My daughter seems to have puffy eyes irregularly as well. Usually it is one eye that is puffed up, especially after waking up from a night’s sleep.
    She does not seem to be in any discomfort and continues to play and feed. The puffiness goes away as she continues to be awake.
    Did you ever face the same situation with your daughter again?
    Thanks

    Anand

  • kylie

    Hi Anand,

    I only had the one instance of the puffy eyes that I recall. Mouth/lip swelling was something we experienced more often.
    Sorry, can’t offer any help to you on this one.
    What does your GP think it might be?

    Kylie

  • rummana

    Anand,
    My four year old also have same problem.did u see your doc? any suggestion?

  • Kylie

    have a browse around this site. there is information about what I did

    kylie

  • april

    Hi Kylie,
    I’m trying to reach you. I run a healthy eating survival group called “The Good Food Group” I’m doing a presentation about dairy allergies and viable alternatives. I would love to use the pic of Isabella and her eczema. It’s a precious pic. My daughter went through years of it (she’s now 25) I didn’t know she was allergic to dairy until she was adult. Anyway I’m new at hosting this group so haven’t made any $ yet so I don’t have anything to pay you but if you would be so kind to let me use her image to educate other mom’s about allergies, I would be so thankful!! April

  • My site

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over
    that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
    more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

