Egg Free Dairy Free Doughnuts (Donuts)

I recently realised that my 7 year old had never had the joy of eating Doughnuts!! Warm Cinnamon Doughnuts would have to be one of my favorites. So hunting around and experiementing a little, here’s a recipe which worked quite well. I am planning some variations, so will report back with those.

One good aspect about recipe is that the Doughnuts are baked and not fried…. which makes them lower in fat and a “healthier alternative”. However, the baking makes it harder for the sugar and cinnamon to stick to the outside!!

I used mini-muffin tins – the doughnuts can’t be too large, or they won’t cook through. Pete thinks he knows where he can get some donut “molds” – so I’m gonna try that out… will keep you posted!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups Plain Flour
  • 2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup Soy Butter
  • 1/3 cup Caster Sugar
  • 1 egg substitute (I used Organics Egg replacer)
  • 2/3 cup Soymilk

Topping

  • 2 Tablespoons Caster Sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 180C.

Sift flour, baking powder, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt together (or whisk if you don’t have a seive).

In a separate bowl, use beaters to cream the soy butter and sugar. I found the soy butter wouldn’t “cream” well, so I added some soy milk till it “creamed”. (This was in addition to the 2/3 cup in the ingredients.)

Add egg substitute, and mix well.  Add 1/4 to 1/3 of flour mix; stir until smooth.  Add some soy milk; stir again until smooth. Repeat until all ingredients are combined. The dough is quite dense and tacky.

Spoon dough into miniature muffin tins.  Bake for 20 minutes.

Combine sugar and cinnamon in a bowl.  Roll doughnuts in sugar mix.

I found the sugar didn’t stick well – so sprayed with a little olive oil spray to help the process. 🙂

Makes about 30-35 mini-muffin doughnuts.

Bella thought they were awesome and scoffed 3 or 4 for dessert.

Peter thought they were pretty good too and ate them for breakfast!!

I’ve got to say I was surprised that they were as good as they were. Not as good as the fatty sugary things hot off the doughnut cooker, but pretty good none-the-less.

Do you have a child with food allergies?

Please add your data to the Food Allergy Survey


12 responses to “Egg Free Dairy Free Doughnuts (Donuts)

  • Andrea

    Tried these becaause my son is also allergic to eggs. We have always used applesause instead of eggs. They didn’t turn out very well. They tasted great but took forever to cook (over 40 minutes)and still were not completely done?????? Then my husband asked why they were being cooked at 180 degrees. I showed him the recipe and he pointed out that it was to be 180C NOT 180F. Oh well. We will try again later. Still taste good not fully cooked they just fall apart!! lol

  • kylie

    he he he
    We are very metric oriented down here – I am assuming you are from the US??

    I thought these were pretty good – all things considered… but not quite as good as the real thing.

    Hope they work out better when you set the oven a little hotter 🙂

  • Stephen

    Hi,
    My girlfriend is a big fan of doughnuts but has severe exzema caused by lactose. She’ll be very pleased that I’ve found this recipe.

    One comment – it’s dairy free, not diary free 🙂 (I only found the recipe because I typed it wrong myself in Google) you should change it so that the recipe will appear when people search correctly 🙂

  • Stephen

    EDIT

    eczema not exzema – my typing is terrible! 🙂

  • kylie

    Hi Stephen,

    Fixed!

    Thanks – I often get that one wrong!

    Kylie

  • Judy

    thanks. can’t wait to try it. My son is allergic to eggs and donuts are the only things that he misses.

  • Raadhika

    My son is allergic to eggs which means we are always on a look out for eggfree everything! Necessity is the mother of invention, right?(or some such thing…..!) So my cousin and I came up with some eggfree stuff for him. My doughnuts taste ok but still aren’t like the ones with eggs in them…..hmm..got to work on it! So if you have a recipe update on the doughnuts..PLEASE!

  • Cat

    I made a recipie very similar to this recently, except I used 1 cup of dark brown sugar, 2 cups organic whole wheat flour, 1 1/3 cups white flour, 2 egg replacements, 2 tablespoons of hemp butter instead of soy butter, 3/4 cups of vanilla soy milk. You mix it into a thick dough and then roll it out to about 1/2 inch thick. Cut with donut cutter (i used a cup for the outside and a shot glass for the inside) and then deep fried in organic veg oil. i assume you would be able to bake it and get similarily delicious results.

  • amy

    thank you so much, going to give this a try, not been able to taste a dough nut for 24 years!! looking forward to it!!

  • 2010 in review « Kylie’s Blog

    […] Egg Free Dairy Free Doughnuts (Donuts) May 2006 10 comments Posted by kylie Filed in Blog Tips Leave a Comment » LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  • pence@fuse.net

    Thanks for the recipe – can’t wait to try it!
    Buy a mini donut pan at youravon.com/shawnpence
    Perfect for baking the donuts!

Leave a comment